Healy–Hunter Award

The Healy–Hunter Award honours the founders of the Australian Colloid and Surface Science Student Conference; Professor Tom Healy (The University of Melbourne) and Professor Bob Hunter (University of Sydney), who first organised such a conference in 1967. The conferences have been held regularly since this time. 

The Award, which highlights and recognises the most outstanding student oral presentation at the conference, consists of a commemorative medal and a contribution towards the travel costs of attending an international conference. In 1998, a Royal Australian Chemical Institute Award Trust was formed as a result of the generous financial support of many Australian surface and colloid science researchers and research groups. Students enrolled at an Australian university are eligible candidates for this award.


All staff attending the student conference are eligible to vote. Supervisors may vote for their own PhD students if so desired. In judging the award, staff consider the quality of science, oral/visual skills, and construction and flow of the presentation. In the event of a tie in the voting, the President of Australasian Colloid and Interface Society (or nominee) will have the casting vote. The award can be won only once by any individual.

Previous winners of the Healy–Hunter award:



 2022Linda RozenbergaUniversity of South Australia 
 2020Calum Butler  Monash University
 2018 Liam Scarratt    The University of Sydney
 2016 Christopher Bolton The University of Melbourne
 2014 Michael Neeson The University of Melbourne
 2012 Ashish Kumar The University of Melbourne
 2010 Robert Hayes University of Newcastle
 2008 Luke Parkinson IWRI, University of South Australia
 2006 Jacqui McRae Swinburne University of Technology
 2004 Drew Evans The Australian National University
 2002 Nicola Richards IWRI, University of South Australia
 2001 Rod Harris LaTrobe University
 1999 Wuge Briscoe IWRI, University of South Australia
 1998 Janine Burns University of Newcastle


Copyright ACIS Ltd, 2013–2022; ABN 68 159 166 766

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software